Why ‘Unlikely Places’?

“Courage is found in unlikely places.”   -J.R.R. Tolkien

My title of Unlikely Places was inspired by a quote from J.R.R Tolkien.  I Chose to look at quotes from Tolkien because I am going to New Zealand in February and so I thought it would be fitting.  Being a Lord of the Rings fan, I always think of New Zealand as Middle Earth!  I am extremely excited to travel to this country, and that is actually the main reason I started this blog.  I wanted to be able to share my experiences with others, have a way for my loved ones to see what I’m up to, and to have something to look back on when I come home!

I love the idea that Tolkien presents in this quote.  He is of course talking in one of his books, but I think that his words can be applied to our lives too.  This may be a little personal, but I really feel that when I travel across the world all by myself, I will be able to find courage to become independent and strong.  I feel that I have always had someone there to hold my hand, and being alone in a new place will indeed cause me to look for some courage!  Tolkien’s words inspire me and give me hope for what is to come, and I hope that you too can find courage in unlikely places!

Leave a Reply

